Home » Activism, Transportation & Ped Safety » 525 Harrison Needs Pedestrian Safety Improvements

525 Harrison Needs Pedestrian Safety Improvements

Sharing this message from pedestrian safety advocacy organization Walk San Francisco about the 525 Harrison Street project coming before the Planning Commission this Thursday:


On Thursday, August 13th, the Planning Commission will be voting on the 525 Harrison St. project (a 7-story, 205 rental unit residential project with ground floor retail).

 
Walk SF and members of the South Beach | Rincon | Mission Bay Neighborhood Association want the Planning Commission to take this opportunity explicitly incorporate safety best-practice designs and engineering standards in ALL new projects, especially at sites adjacent to freeway ramps to meet the City’s stated Vision Zero goal to end all traffic deaths and serious injuries by 2024.
 
If you can attend the meeting, or send an email supporting the following conditions to ensure pedestrian safety:
  • Provide a signalized crosswalk across Essex St (freeway on-ramp) designed and engineered to meet Vision Zero-best practices and reflect Rincon Hill Streetscape Plan design standards.
  • Design the north/south signalized crossing across Harrison St., designated in the Rincon Hill Streetscape Plan to meet Vision Zero-best practices.
  • Add bulb-outs and other streetscape improvements along the southerly side of Harrison between Essex and First streets to meet the Rincon Hill Streetscape Plan standards, as well Vision Zero-best practices safety standards.
There are other zoning and massing issues the Planning Commission will be addressing related to this project, but nothing in the proposed conditions for approval addresses pedestrian safety for the the people who will live in and/or visit this building.
 
Urge the Planning Commission to plan ahead, not retrofit for safety after a tragic traffic crash!
 
E-mails should be received by Commissioners no later than 8/12.
 
Commissioner addresses are:
Rodney Fong (planning@rodneyfong.com); Cindy Wu (cwu.planning@gmail.com); Michael Antonini (wordweaver21@aol.com); Rich Hillis (richhillissf@yahoo.com); Christine Johnson (christine.d.johnson@sfgov.org); Kathrin Moore (mooreurban@aol.com); and Dennis Richards (dennis.richards@sfgov.org); Commission Secretary Jonas Ionin (Jonas.Ionin@sfgov.org). Good to cc Planning Project lead, Rich Sucre (Richard.Sucre@sfgov.org); project sponsor Peter Tsai (Peter.Tsai@hines.com); Supervisor Jane Kim (jane.kim@sfgov.org); D6 Aide Danny Yadegar (daniel.yadegar@sfgov.org); Walk SF Executive Director Nicole Ferrara (nicole@walksf.org)
 
Thank you for your consideration and support of safer streets, and more walkable neighborhoods.

Comments are closed.